A Landmarked mansion, built in 1853, and one of the last surviving sea captains houses on Staten Island, looking out onto the harbour. Italianate architecture, Venetian windows, exposed original bricks with Gothic Revival elements. Four floors being restored using architectural salvage.
The lower floor has a granite foundation, natural stone floors, Venetian plaster ceilings, a wood burning pizza oven, turn-of-the-century brass nautical themed chandeliers and a coral reef tank. Blossoming garden with a 40′ x 20′ pool, stone water well and fruit trees.
Hard wood floors throughout the rest of the house, an 1853 grand piano, furnished bedrooms with carved walnut furniture, circa 1850. Juliet balcony, American Empire flame mahogany couch with horsetail upholstery, white washed attic studios, authentic Turkish carpets and unique stained walls with original paint and charred marks from a fire in 1982, all adding to the magic of this ancient mariners masterpiece that feels like an urban archaeological excavation.