Historical jail and architectural gem in Charleston, South Carolina. It acted as the jail for Charleston County from 1802 to 1939.
Surrounded by an historic brick wall, the grounds provide open parking or event space and feature numerous live oaks that provide shade and atmosphere. There is also a wood post pavilion that is ideal for outdoor events. The interior is sparse, so large events or shoots can easily be set up inside.
The building is constructed of brick and faced with gray stucco. As part of a remodel in 1859, Romanesque Revival detailing was added. The Jail is comprised of three sections:
1. The Main Cell Block (1802) includes 2 large rooms on each floor (roughly 1,500sf each) accessed by a central stair hall. These rooms are very open with 16-foot ceilings, a fireplace in each corner, and numerous windows on every side. Iron window bars are original. The walls and ceilings are plaster over masonry, with some exposed brick showing in places. On each end of the Main Cell Block are steel support towers that hold up the exterior masonry.
2. The Jailor’s Quarters (1859) at the north end of the building served as living quarters and the main public entrance to the Jail. The two rooms on the lower level were public waiting rooms, while the 3 rooms on each upper level were for the jailor and his family. These spaces have more detail including hardwood floors, decorative fireplaces, and plaster walls. The upper floors of the Jailor’s Quarters can be accessed by wooden spiral staircases housed in the end towers.
3. The Octagonal Wing (1859) at the south side of the building was added to increase the number of jail cells. It includes irregular-shaped rooms of between 300sf and 700sf, each accessed from a central hall.
No nailing in walls (historic plaster).